35th Buckwheat International Ski Classic: March 5 & 12, 2022: ‘TOGA, TOGA, TOGA’!!!

KIDS SKI CLUB SATURDAYS.   Usually meets at West Creek Bridge parking lot in Dyea at 11:30 a.m. Check Facebook and out TRAILS & EVENTS page for updates. Klondike Tours can shuttle up to 7 people from the Rec Center to West Creek or designated ski area weekly free of charge.   Shuttle leaves at 11am and returns at 2pm. E-mail logcabinskisociety@gmail.com for more information.

MARCH EVENT PLANS: TOGA, TOGA, TOGA!.   At the annual meeting of the LCSS on January 6, it was decided that due to the ongoing COVID and border issues, it would be better to have a two-tiered, lower-key Buckwheat event this year on successive weekends in early March. A March 5 event will be in Skagway and a March 12 event at Log Cabin. More details and registration information will be forthcoming around February 20. Check out the “Toga Toga Toga” logo below as we attack the next frat house Greek letter variant and start planning your costumes!

WE HAVE SNOW & TRAIL REPORTS – Watch our TRAILS & EVENTS page and follow us on FACEBOOK to see weekly winter updates Dec-March including information on Ski Club Activities/Lessons during our ski season in Skagway/Dyea. The Log Cabin Ski Trails are maintained by volunteers with LCSS from Skagway or the Yukon (during COVID) by special agreements with British Columbia Recreation Trails and Parks and Parks Canada. These trails are for cross-country skiing only!

The ski trails that we manage at Log Cabin pass through the traditional territory of the Carcross Tagish First Nation and occur on lands managed by Recreation Sites & Trails B.C. and Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site (Parks Canada). Please honour and respect these traditional lands.

LCSS 2022 AGM  REPORT(January 6, 2022): New officers are Tim Bourcy, president; Cory Thole, vice president; Katherine Nelson, secretary; Jeremy Simmons, treasurer; board members: Mike Korsmo, Nicole Kovacs, John Hinrichs, Mike Kramer (Yukon rep).The new contact email for LCSS is logcabinskisociety@gmail.com

Mission Statement Revised (October 2021): It is the mission of the Log Cabin Ski Society to promote outdoor winter recreation activities, preserve and maintain ski trails from tidewater in Skagway, Alaska to Log Cabin, B.C. for the enjoyment of skiers, and to organize the Skagway Ski Club and Buckwheat International Ski Classic for competitors of all ages and abilities so that everyone will have a howlin’ good time.

THANK YOU VOLUNTEERS – See our 2020 THANK YOU AD in The Skagway News. Sorry, no volunteer party was held due to COVID-19 concerns. We continue to need new blood to help us continue to put on a fabulous race and keep our trails maintained weekly through the ski season. If you’d like to help out, please message us through our Facebook page.

Buckwheat Donahue memorial gifts.  The Log Cabin Ski Society, along with many in our community and all over the region, were saddened by the passing of our race founder, Buckwheat Donahue, on October 14, 2019 in Oklahoma, where he had moved in 2018. He had been in declining health for some time. His Obituary appeared in The Skagway News on October 25, 2019 and a Howling Celebration of Life was held in Skagway on November 23 at the Eagles. A Buckwheat-themed tribute was held during the 2020 race. We love you and miss you, BW!  The family has asked that memorial gifts be sent to the Log Cabin Ski Society Warming Hut Fund, Box 636, Skagway, AK 99840.

30th Anniversary Buckwheat Ski Classic DVD & 2020 Shirts on Sale! – Support our Warming Hut Fund!  Pick up a DVD at the Mountain Shop in Skagway for $10 and we also have extra 2020 Racer Shirts on sale at the Mountain Shop for $5.

The Buckwheat logos for the 2020 race were designed by Skagway artist Courtenay Birdsall Clifford

2020 race photos by Andrew Cremata – see more in our Photo Gallery!